My New Favorite Rooftop Bar in Rome

For years I told people to go to the rooftop bar at the Hotel Mediterraneo on via Cavour, which has stunning views and Italo, the most charming old waiter in town.  But recently I went there, and it was CLOSED.  Now they only serve dinner up there, and it’s LOCKED the rest of the time.

I remained inconsolable until one day I raised my eyes heavenward – most likely shaking my fist at the gods for casting me this cruel fate, or maybe to check out a bus stop sign – and I saw, high above me, like a vision, a bar.  A bar in the sky. Like a dream, it was. So, I took my friend, who was visiting and who is famous for never, ever turning down a cocktail, and up, up, up we went to the bar in the sky.

This bar is like Brett Easton Ellis and David Hockney had a baby. A baby made of gin and love. Oh, it is so glorious. Gentlemen, BEHOLD:

Rooftop Bar

While our prosecco was pricey (for Rome) at 8 euro each, it did come with a free cocktail hour buffet. Not that any of the fabulous people sipping and texting up there have eaten it. Or anything else, ever.

Rooftop Bar

I’ve been away from the States so long, I did not even realize those were cranberries. And I’m from NEW JERSEY.

Rooftop Bar

Rooftop Bar

I mean, come on. Look at that view. You can’t put a price on that. Unless that price is 8 euro.

At any rate – literally and conversationally – it’s ZEST bar, at the top of the Radisson Blu on via Giolitti across from Termini. I’ll see you there!

16 thoughts on “My New Favorite Rooftop Bar in Rome

  1. That second to last photo made my heart ache, literally. What a perfect moment to have captured.

    And your description of the Brett Easton Ellis and David Hockney love child is spot-on. How do you do that?

  2. Pingback: Turning Online Friends into Real-Life Friends | Bootblog

  3. Yes, we also stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo, and enjoyed the views from up there. Coming to Rome again in a couple of weeks, and am looking for another rooftop bar, thanks for the insight. So, those red thingies will really be cranberries?

  4. What would most people do without the excellent suggestions you share on this blog? Who has got the endurance to deal with critical topics in the interests of common readers like me? I actually and my pals are very delighted to have your site among the kinds we generally visit. It is hoped you know how a great deal we love your efforts! Best wishes from us all.

Leave a comment