Mid-Week Links and Randomness

  • Sean Keener of BootsnAll and I have started dealing crack to travel addicts in the form of Travel News Daily. Bookmark it now:

Have you ever had a dessert placed in front of you after a great meal, and you think you can’t possible manage another bite, but you stick your fork in it and something wonderful oozes out, and you get all excited and put it in your mouth and it’s the best thing you’ve ever had, and you hope you can eat there again the next night just to recreate that one moment?

That’s Travel News Daily – every half-hour, every day of the week, we’re going to give you juicy morsels of travel-related ephemera we find on the Internets. Get your destination guides, top 10 lists and ways to save somewhere else – this is for those among us who start planning our next trip during the flight home.

Travel addicts unite!

  • I wrote a rant about a completely unbelievable survey that revealed France as the most expensive holiday destination. It’s hilarious and scathing. Read it and weep.
  • A bunch of awesome Italiaphiles I know started a podcast called Eye on Italy. Listen to it.

5 thoughts on “Mid-Week Links and Randomness

  1. Can’t wait to see you in June! Mr. Pants and I are first in line to hang out with you!! Can you bring the Gay Mafia with you?🙂

  2. Unrelated to this post, but I read your blog on occasion and have been trawling through some old entries (bored at work) and couldn’t agree more with both your book and film reviews (in particular Under the Tuscan Sun. I mean I know it’s kind of supposed to be fantastical, but come on). So thank you for the entertainment. I also read the part of your book that I could get for free (because I’m cheap) and found it to be much better than all that ridiculous navel-gazing in Eat, Love, Pray. I’m still ashamed I read that book actually.

    So thank you for the entertainment🙂

  3. Just saw missexpatria.wordpress.com from a post called “50 Awesome European Travel Blogs,” you are doing terrific work, and we’d would love you to consider a link exchange.

    My partner Danielle and I are currently traveling to nearly every country in Africa (we are writing now from Dakar, Senegal) meeting with farmers, workers, NGO’s and community groups writing about innovations and projects that our working to alliviate hunger and poverty. We travel blog everyday at BorderJumpers (www.borderjumpers.org). We are trying to highlight stories of hope and success.

    Thanks so much for your consideration! My email is borderjumpers1@gmail.com

  4. Mon Dieu for your rant on how expensive (not) France is! My husband and I just spent 2 weeks in Paris and Annecy and we told everybody on our return “it’s cheap!” So what. Rooms are expensive, but they are everywhere. So hwa Lunches and dinners out were incredibly cheap — $40 euros for 3 course prix fixe plus wine. How cheap can you get?? We were staying in an aparthotel, so we also got the chance to shop at the market and have them in the room. That’s where things were super cheap — a pound of coffee for 1.50 euro! A loaf of bread under 1 euro! The Metro is cheap. A roundtrip ticket for 2 to Versailles on the RER was 14euro. Very very cheap!

    BTW, I just read your book in 2 days. Loved it! I have never been to Italy and am thinking about a trip for 2012. Although France has my heart and I feel like I would be having an affair if I went to Italy. Weird, I know. I also loved Anthony Bourdains “No Reservations” of Italy, just wish it had been in color since I’ve never been.

  5. (Sorry…my screen went crazy while typing so I had to go back and fix the typos…)

    Mon Dieu for your rant on how expensive (not) France is! My husband and I just spent 2 weeks in Paris and Annecy and we told everybody on our return “it’s cheap!” Rooms are expensive, but they are everywhere. So what. Lunches and dinners out were incredibly cheap — $40 euros for 3 course prix fixe plus wine for two people. How cheap can you get?? We were staying in an aparthotel, so we also got the chance to shop at the market and have some meals in the room. That’s where things were super cheap — a pound of coffee for 1.50 euro! A loaf of bread under 1 euro! The Metro is cheap. A roundtrip ticket for 2 to Versailles on the RER was 14 euro. Very very cheap!

    BTW, I just read your book in 2 days. Loved it! I have never been to Italy and am thinking about a trip for 2012. Although France has my heart and I feel like I would be having an affair if I went to Italy. Weird, I know. I also loved Anthony Bourdains “No Reservations” about Rome, just wish it had been in color since I’ve never been.

    Although you make Montpel seem very inviting, too. Choices, choices…

Leave a Reply

