Big, Newsy Update: I’m Writing A France Travel Guide!

Viterbo Primo Maggio

I promised myself I wouldn’t let an entire week go by without an update from your dear old Miss Expatria, and it looks like I’ve come in just under the wire. I’ve got a some fun, exciting news to share, so let’s get on it immediately, shall we?

I’ve been hinting at a big new project I’ve been working on, and now I can finally tell you what it is!

I’m writing the France Travel Guide for BootsnAll!

BootsnAll is a longtime veteran of the travel industry, and they’ve recently started expanding their reach by including local experts to help travelers know what’s in store for them at their favorite destinations. They’ve added five new writers to be the first group in this pilot project, and I’m one of them. I’m proud to be a part of such a fantastic bunch of travel addicts; I knew from the moment I got off the phone with co-founder and CEO Sean Keener that I wanted to join their ranks.

Let me give you some great links you’re going to want to bookmark and check back with often. Ready?

Although we’re part of the BootsnAll network, our travel guides are part of their WhyGo series. First there’s Jessica, who writes WhyGo Italy. I know her personally; she is the one who encouraged me to apply for this gig, and I couldn’t be more happy about taking her up on it.

The other four writers in this pilot group are:

I “met” them during a conference call a few weeks ago, and they are consummate travelers and all-around nice people. We were spread out all over the world, from Sean’s early-morning location in Portland (even though he had already done some yoga, which made me feel lazy since it was mid-afternoon in France and I was still in pajamas) to Brooke’s late-night location in Sydney. Nellie’s call-in provided a soundtrack; she was sitting in a hotel lobby at a piano bar!

And finally, here is all my information for the fantastic France Travel Guide:

  • Check out the site here.
  • This is the WhyGo France Twitter account.
  • “Like” this Facebook page, and get instant updates on new posts and pithy observations.

OK! Now that you’ve got all the technical details, let’s talk about the juicy stuff: What does this mean for me?

Well, the France Travel Guide on the WhyGo network has been around for a while, so it already has a lot of information about traveling to and getting around in France. For right now, I’m doing some updating of that information, filling in some uncovered areas, and generally sprucing up the place with a new coat of paint, so to speak.

Once that’s out of the way, I’m going to be adding fresh new content about the country I call home. This means I’ll be traveling around France a lot, checking out hotels, restaurants, sights and events and then reporting back to let you know the ins and outs of some popular destinations – and, because it’s me, I’ll be revealing some of the more off-the-beaten-path places to check out as well.

So. That’s my big news! Please stop by not only WhyGo France, but all the new sites, and say hi! And you can expect the same here on this blog, as well as cheeky links to what I’ve been up to over on BootsnAll.

YAY!

19 thoughts on “Big, Newsy Update: I’m Writing A France Travel Guide!

  1. Great news! Congrats and all that! I look forward to seeing what you’ve got planned. I’ve only barely scratched the surface of BootsnAll, so I’m sure I’ll be on there more often!

    • The more I’ve worked on the site, the more I realize they have an amazing wealth of really solid travel information. I also like that the writers’ voices are encouraged to shine through. It’s AWESOME!

  2. Pingback: Big, Newsy Update: I'm Writing A France Travel Guide! « Miss Expatria

  3. This. Is. AWESOME. The site really does have lots of great info, and I spent a happy afternoon today sorting through the pages on Florence. An amazing resource, and they’re sure lucky to have you!

    • Yeah, it’s a monster of a site. And I know Jessica, the Italy expert, and she ROCKS and is very helpful.

  4. Have always enjoyed the fact that the French travel to other countries less than any other country.

    Why should they?

    They’re already in France. 🙂

  5. Congrats on the new gig! Can’t wait to read more, I know you will be a great asset to the BnA team!! I love your Montpellier area, and will be writing more on the Languedoc-Roussillon region myself very soon.

    Best of luck to you in your new venture, and can’t wait to meet you at TBEX10.

    Mary Ann Grisham
    Enchanted Traveler
    http://www.enchantedtraveler.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

