Miss Expatria Wants To Hear From YOU

Over the next couple of weeks, I have to get down to bidness on an exciting new project that I can’t wait to tell you about. I’m not sure how it’s going to affect the creative energy I have for this space, though, and I don’t want to go radio silent. So, I’m opening it up to you, dear readers:

Imagine you’re sitting across from me at the table. We’ve finished our meals, but we’ve still got some wine left and the waiter’s leaving us alone. It’s late afternoon in Venice and we’ve got nowhere else to be. What story would you ask me to tell you? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll do my best to honor your requests in the coming weeks. And if you have any questions, I’ll answer them directly in the comments when I get a chance – so check back and see if I’ve answered yours, or subscribe to comments so you can get the answer delivered right to your inbox!

Finally, because I don’t tell you nearly often enough, thank you for reading what I write. It gives me great pleasure to know my voice is being heard.

23 thoughts on “Miss Expatria Wants To Hear From YOU

    • Well, I’m going to be in Milano Centrale stazione on Wednesday from 7pm to 8pm…

      Other than that, I’m not sure. I’ll be in Rome all of May. I’d like to spend the summer here in Montpellier. I’m still looking into tickets to the States for TBEX10 and to spend time with family, including two little cousins I’ve never met! But the ticket prices are really, really high.

      I want to head back to Venice at some point. Cal wants to take me to Madrid in September. And with this new project, I may be skidding around France a lot come year end.

      How’s that for a non-answer?

  1. If money was no object, where would you live for the rest of your life, specifically? Also, what would your dream house look like? Since you’re already living what I would consider a dream life (warts and all, I know), I’m curious what your BIG dreams are like.

  2. I want to hear about how you played “Annie” on the road when you were a kid, which I imagine in part is the source of your love of travel, any wacky crazy stories from being part of a traveling theatre troupe…

    Great picture of you, BTW.

  3. Wait, I thought of another one…

    What do the Europeans really think about us? You know, what do they say when they forget you’re American? Or do they ever forget you’re American?

  4. I’d like to hear the story of how you went grey overnight when the towers came down…….!!!!!!!!
    More seriously, I’m with the Annie stories request.

  5. I’ve met you, read your blog, and read your book… You seem like a fearless go-getter. So I wanna know – what about travel SCARES you? Any place you would NEVER go without a tour group/guide? Any food you’re terrified to eat? Any population you’re afraid of? And beyond things you might be afraid of because they’re unknowns, are there any travel-related stories of things you’ve done and they STILL freak you out?

  6. Ciao Miss Expatria:

    I am new here but happy to find your blog!!

    I am an expat living in Roma. I lead Scooter Tours of Rome – Scooteroma!! So the next time you come down – you said maybe in May – I would love to offer you one of my fabulous Scooter Tours. OR I can teach you how to drive one!!
    The best way to see Rome is from the back of a bike.

    I am sure you have already eaten in the Jewish Ghetto & know it well but I recommend Sora Margherita for our lunch break….

    All the best,
    The Scooter Maven

  7. One of my regular guests fancies renting an apartment in Venice to occasionally retreat there in stead of where she lives. Which city part would you fancy?
    Further she says that social life in Venice is very home bound. Real Venetians don’t meet in pubs. They meet at parties thrown at homes. As a tourist your not likely to meet real Venetians.
    Venice intrigues me. And you?

    • Wow. I had no idea social life in Venice was home bound; I pictured it as more chic. There’s a great site for travelers who want to meet locals – “real Venetians,” for example, called Tripping. It’s a free online community where members can find other members who will host them in their homes or share their favorite local restaurant or bar with them. I would use Tripping anyway, but now I know that when I go to Venice (on my list for years), I definitely should use it. If you are intrigued, you should visit the site: https://www.tripping.com/about/index/howitworks.

  8. I seem to have trouble finding a publisher for my book. Do you have any tips?

    Also, tomorrow’s my birthday and I’m breaking open a couple Veuve’s. Since you’re in town…

  9. Pingback: Answering Reader Questions, Part I « Miss Expatria

  10. Ciao Miss Expatria,

    I wish I had found your blog sooner! I traveled around Italy a couple summers (“saving” Venice for a trip there with my soul mate) with a home base in Viarregio one year and Florence the other.

    Recently I came across an online community that allows members to find hosts in cities all over the world; this hosting can be anything from sharing favorite local spots over a cup of coffee to hosting fellow online community members in their homes.

    I’ve heard nothing but good things about this site, this hospitality exchange network. I even shared the link with a fellow reader of your blog. But I was wondering if you had any thoughts on such hospitality exchange networks in general.

  11. Pingback: Answering Reader Questions, Part II « Miss Expatria

  12. I’d love to know what, to you, makes someplace “home”? How long does it usually take you to ‘set up’ or feel that a new place is in fact, home. And where do you feel the most at home these days – and why, of course🙂

Leave a Reply

