What to Call Your Period in Other Countries

* The Netherlands: “The tomato soup is overcooked”

* Brazil: “I’m with Chico”

* China: “Little Sister has come”

* Many parts of Latin America: “Jenny has a red dress on”

* Australia: “I’ve got the flags out”

* Denmark: “There are Communists in the funhouse”

* Ireland: “I’m wearing a jam rag”

* England: “I’m flying the Japanese flag”

* Japan: “Little Miss Strawberry”

* France: “The English have arrived”

* Germany: “The cranberry woman is coming”

* Puerto Rico: “Did the rooster already sing?”

* South Africa: “Granny’s stuck in traffic”

via TheGloss.

16 thoughts on “What to Call Your Period in Other Countries

    • I’m Dutch, and I’ve never heard of the tomato soup thing. My friends and I tend to just say we’re on our periods, instead of using euphemisms, so I don’t really know any..
      That said, it does make more sense to have it be boiling over than overcooked. Funny, at any rate.

  1. In Sicily, the topic of menstruation and especially the idea of sex during menstruation was off limits, even among the young people I hung out with.

    It’s funny, as the Sicilian culture is saturated with sex, and yet there are these taboos. I guess the Victorian age was, underneath it all, also saturated in sex.

    Best regards,

    Brian

  2. I’ve never heard an Australian say anything about flags and I lived there for 20 years. I’ve also never heard anyone in the UK say anything about the Japanese flag and I’ve lived there for another 20. I have heard people say they’ve got the builders in – which never made any sense to me!

    • I got it from that link, which is about a book in which these appear. None of these make sense to me!!

      • Menstruation is a celebration of (fertile) womanhood. Never understood the opprobrium for same.

        We get all bent out of shape about menopause.

        After getting all bent out of shape about menstruation.

        WTF?

        Best regards,

        Brian

  3. Hilarious! I didn’t expect Danes to be that graphic. And South Africa? Cryptic.

    The entry missing for Italy–Rome in particular–is “Il Marchese,” the marquis.
    Derives from pre-sanitary napkin era. Eco-friendly cloth diapers women used in past centuries were washed and hung to dry like the rest of the laundry, except the many small items flapping in the Roman wind looked like little flags. Putting flags in windows was a common way to salute the passing nobility during special occasions.
    From there, “look at all those flags, there must be a marquis coming by today”

    Little bit of Roman trivia…
    Ciao

  4. Pingback: Arts and Crafts Week at Panty Camp - Living Sexuality

Leave a Reply

