Pictures: Life in the Roman Aqueducts

As I’ve mentioned before, Marco’s house is built into an aqueduct that runs along the streets of Rome. Here is the view from his door:

My Mandriones

Join me after the jump for more innovative residential construction on the back streets of Rome.

This is the house on the other side of the aqueduct from Marco’s house.

My Mandriones

And along that road, there are many homes whose entrances are the arches of the aqueduct.

My Mandriones

My Mandriones

My Mandriones

Back on Marco’s street, there are more homes built into it.

Via del Mandrione

Via del Mandrione

Farther down the street, there are glimpses of homes long gone from the aqueduct.

Mandrione Aqueduct

Mandrione Aqueduct

Aqueduct Graffiti

Still farther down, the arches become entrances for local family gardens.

Mandrione Aqueduct

Via del Mandrione

Join me tomorrow for a series of Aqueduct graffiti photos!

5 thoughts on “Pictures: Life in the Roman Aqueducts

  1. I’ve been enjoying your photos and words…

    Heading upstairs to your Mom & Dad’s for dinner tonight – Corky’s world famous pasta pescatore… and lots of wine. Hope to see you before we head back to Chicago….
    -Janice

Leave a Reply

