A Tale of Two Travel Blogs

I’ve come across two blogs recently, and I’d like to share them with you.

The first is Marlene’s Life in Tuscany. She just moved from the U.S. to Lucca, and is chronicling her experience as she discovers a new way of life.  I see so much of myself in her posts, and it boggles my mind that I have done what she is doing now. How did I do that?! The learning curve is tremendous, and I applaud Marlene for diving in head first to her new life.  My “Italy Girls” bloggers especially will get a kick out of her tales:

Cooking 101 in Italy: Oh my goodness! You have to lift the lid on the stove and push in a button that makes the burner click and then you have to push in the actual knob and move it just so and hold it in until it catches and both buttons can be released.

And I love this description as well, it’s a perfect observation and one I hope she never loses as she becomes accustomed to OLD STUFF:

The entry door to the building is very old and the inside foyer and stairs are made of very old cement, bricks and metal fittings that were used to keep the formed concrete in place. It’s quite scary walking up the stairwell, however there is plenty of lighting so I don’t have to worry about tripping and falling. Of course, because of the time this apartment was built, there were absolutely no elevators.

The second blog is called Mr. Patterson goes to Languedoc. Mr. Patterson is a cycling enthusiast, and he maps out, photographs, and describes the many cycling trips he takes around the Languedoc region. This is where I am currently holed up, and I’ve been to many of the places he writes about.

I am by no means the outdoors type, but his trips sound so easy and fun, and his photographs are so lovely, it makes me at least want to rent one of the town bikes and get out of L’Ecusson, which is the heart of the ehart of the city centre of Montpellier.  There is so much to see in this region, and I’m not taking advantage of my time here at all becuase of my petulant Roman-in-exile attitude. Le sigh. One day, when I am done writing these 14 relationship advice books I keep seeming to be hired for, I’ll see daylight hours and stretch my legs a bit.

9 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Travel Blogs

  1. Oh, that made me laugh about the stove. At the apartment in Florence, whoever was trying to get a burner to light would soon have an audience (never any bigger than three, but still, an audience) offering helpful tips and advice on just how to burn the knob and hold it, or encouragement to try again, or “You almost got it!”

  2. Also, when we checked in to the Florence Apartment, we got a long list of things to do and not do with various switches on the walls. Gabriella would point at some switch and say “DON’T TOUCH! Non tocare!” Then there were many nodding heads, repeating “Right, don’t touch.”

  3. Thanks for posting my blog as well. Imagine my surprise when I checked my states today and had more than 3 hits! Here’s a hint, if you’re even slightly serious about getting out of town on a VeloMag: go south. They’ve only got 3 speeds and you’ll use them up pretty quickly going in the opposite direction.

    Gerry

  4. Great blog! I thankfully came upon it via one of my Google Alerts, and will be following with curiosity & anticipation.

    Best,
    Suz (a.k.a. Lil’ Boozie)
    “3 Troopin’ Travelers”

Leave a Reply

