Blogging About Blogging About Travel Writing

The Internet is an incubator of obsessions and addictions – and travel is no exception. In a recent post introduced you to just a few of my favorite Italy blogs. But it’s my dream to become a professional travel writer, and to that end, I’ve been doing a lot of research into how one goes about doing that. In this, the second of a series, I’d like to tell you about some of the sites and blogs I follow, consult and lust after in my quest to become the next Paul Theroux. (Although Paul Theroux is not done with being Paul Theroux, apparently.)

Frommers has a well-written series called Travel Writing 101 that pulls no punches:

Travel Writing 101: Three Ways to Get Started
Travel Writing 101: Traveling on the (Very) Cheap
Travel Writing 101: What Exactly is Travel?
Travel Writing 101: Getting into Print (and Online)
Travel Writing 101: Electronic Publishing

TravelWriters.com sends its members awesome newsletters with press releases, notices of travel writing opportunities, and interesting conversations going on in their forums. I’ve been a member for almost a year and I truly value their insight into this industry and their support of travel writers.

The Nerd’s Eye View Travel Blogger Forum is a good read, as is her blog. I’ve been a longtime lurker.

Recently, however, I’ve discovered something that makes me want to travel for a whole different reason. I’m practically hyperventilating as I write, I want to do all of these so badly.

Robert Haru Fisher, who wrote those Frommers articles above, hosts a Travel Writing Workshop at the Heritage House Museum in Key West every year.

Darren at Travel Rants is hosting a free Travel BlogCamp in London coinciding with the World Travel Market, which I also want to go to.

But my absolute favorite has to be Creative Escapes.  At first glance it looks like a treat for people with lofty intentions and too much disposable income, but they bring in some heavy hitters to host a travel writing boot camp several times a year in sumptuous locales (it’s a flash-driven site, so you’ll have to click on “locations” to get to the good stuff).

Again, these are just a few of the many sites I know and love. In the coming days, I’m going to tell you about the expat sites and blogs that are close to my heart, and I have a few other categories I want to share with you, too! I encourage readers to check out not only all parts of this series, but the comments as well – where many of my fellow bloggers have left comments and links to their own amazing blogs!

3 thoughts on “Blogging About Blogging About Travel Writing

  1. Thanks for the mention!🙂

    Try and get to London, the World Travel Market is amazing if you haven’t been before. Recommended, and great to meet contacts, network and see what is going to be new for 2009.

    Darren

  2. I’d like to do that to, but not full-time. I am a dabbler . Get bored easily if I do the same thing all the time.

    Among my repertoire.. the blog, travel consultant, on-line flea market, Innsitter and aspiring writer.

    Whew. That is a lot to manage😉 But it’s all fun!

    Thanks for all the links. I will have to do some exploring there!!

Leave a Reply

