Miss Expatria’s Top 10 Travel Songs

I’ve compiled my list of songs, or parts of songs, that make me want to travel. They’re listed below, along with the guilty-pleasure lyrics that send me packing. They’re in no particular order, so music snobs: Pipe down out there.

These songs are different than “place” songs – those that evoke the sense of a place so strongly, you can close your eyes while you’re listening and be transported there. That, my dears, is a list for another time. Instead, these are all about gettin’ outta Dodge.

I’d love to hear about your favorite travel songs in the comments. Remember, save your “place” songs for another post!

Song: Home
Artist: Sheryl Crow

I’d like to see the Riviera
Slow dance underneath the stars
I’d like to watch the sun come up
in a stranger’s arms
And this is home

Song: She’s Got Her Ticket
Artist: Tracy Chapman

She’s got her ticket
I think she gonna use it
Think she gonna fly away
No one should try and stop her
Persuade her with their power
She says that her mind is made

Song: Angel of Harlem
Artist: U2

It was a cold and wet December day
When we touched the ground at JFK
Snow was melting on the ground
On BLS I heard the sound of an angel

Song: Come Fly With Me
Artist: Frank Sinatra

Come fly with me, let’s fly, we’ll fly away
If you can use some exotic booze
There’s a bar in far Bombay
Come on fly with me, we’ll fly, we’ll fly away

Song: Leaving for Paris No. 2
Artist: Rufus Wainwright

I pray you won’t follow
Through the crooked streets behind me
I pray you won’t follow
Like so many who have known me
So I’m leaving for Paris
Don’t you try to find out where I am

Song: Verdi Cries
Artist: 10,000 Maniacs

Holidays must end as you know
All is memory taken home with me
The opera, the stolen tea
The sand drawing, the verging sea
All years ago

Song: Wherever I May Roam
Artist: Metallica

I’ll take my time anywhere
I’m free to speak my mind anywhere
Redefine anywhere
Anywhere I roam
Where I lay my hat is home
And the earth becomes my throne
I adapt to the unknown
Under wandering stars I’ve roamed
By myself but not alone
And my ties are severed clean
The less I have the more I gain
Off this beaten path I reign

Song: The Painted Desert
Artist: 10,000 Maniacs

I wanted to be there by May at the latest time
Isn’t that the plan we had, or have you changed your mind?
I haven’t read a word from you since Phoenix or Tucson
April is over
Can you tell me how long before I can be there?

Song: Thunder Road (Hammersmith version ONLY)
Artist: Bruce Springsteen

There were ghosts in the eyes of all the boys you sent away
They haunt this dusty beach road in the skeleton frames of burned out Chevrolets
They scream your name at night on the street
Your graduation gown lies in rags at their feet
And in the lonely cool before dawn
You hear their engines roar on
But when you get to the porch they’re gone on the wind
So Mary climb in
It’s a town full of losers and we’re pullin’ out of here to win

Song: Barcelona
Artist: Jewel

But if you could hear the voice in my heart it will tell you
I’m afraid I’m alone
Won’t somebody please hold me release me
Show me the meaning of mercy
Let me loose
Fly, let me fly, let me fly

11 thoughts on “Miss Expatria’s Top 10 Travel Songs

  1. Last Plane to London
    …leaving’ on runway number five…

    Ferry Cross the Mersey
    So I’ll continue to say
    Here I always will stay
    So ferry ‘cross the Mersey
    ’cause this land’s the place I love
    and here I’ll stay
    and here I’ll stay
    Here I’ll stay

    As Tears Go By
    All I hear is the sound
    Of rain falling on the ground
    I sit and watch
    As tears go by

    Beach Baby
    We couldn’t wait for graduation Day
    We took my car and drove to San Jose

    Freeway of Love
    Goin’ ridin’ on the freeway of love
    Wind’s against our back
    Goin’ ridin’ on the freeway of love
    In my pink cadillac
    Goin’ ridin’ on the freeway of love
    Wind’s against our back
    Ain’t we ridin’ on the freeway of love
    In my pink Cadillac?

    Anything by Bruce Springsteen…

  2. Love the Rufus Wainwright song. LOVE!

    My songs…

    “Truckin” by The Grateful Dead
    Truckin, got my chips cashed in
    Keep truckin like a dooh-dah man
    Together, more or less in line,
    Just keep truckin on

    April Fools by Rufus Wainwright
    Well life’s a train that goes from February on
    Day by day
    But it’s making a stop on April First.

    Midnight Train to Georgia by Gladys Knight and the Pips
    Well he’s leavin (Leavin’) on that midnight train to Georgia (leavin on that midnight train)
    Said he’s going back to find a simpler place and time

    Proudest Monkey by Dave Matthews
    (It makes me think of you, Miss Ex)
    Swing in this tree
    Oh I am bounce around so well
    Branch to branch,
    Limb to limb you see
    All in a days dream
    Im stuck
    Like the other monkeys here
    I am a humble monkey
    Sitting up in here again
    But then came the day
    I climbed out of these safe limbs
    Ventured away
    Walking tall, head high up and singing
    I went to the city
    Car horns, corners and the gritty
    Now I am the proudest monkey youve ever seen
    Then comes the day
    Staring at myself I turn to question me
    I wonder do I want the simple, simple life that I once lived in well
    Oh things were quiet then
    In a way they were the better days
    But now I am the proudest monkey youve ever seen

  3. ‘Like a Rolling Stone” by Bob Dylan

    How does it feel
    How does it feel
    To be on your own
    With no direction home
    A complete unknown
    Like a rolling stone

  4. (Yeah, it reaks of bourgeois privilege to sing along in air-conditioned comfort, but, I do love it)

    “King of the Road” by Roger Miller

    Trailer for sale or rent
    Rooms to let…fifty cents.
    No phone, no pool, no pets
    I ain’t got no cigarettes
    Ah, but..two hours of pushin’ broom
    Buys an eight by twelve four-bit room
    I’m a man of means by no means
    King of the road.

    Third boxcar, midnight train
    Destination…Bangor, Maine.
    Old worn out clothes and shoes,
    I don’t pay no union dues,
    I smoke old stogies I have found
    Short, but not too big around
    I’m a man of means by no means
    King of the road.

    I know every engineer on every train
    All of their children, and all of their names
    And every handout in every town
    And every lock that ain’t locked
    When no one’s around.

    I sing,
    Trailers for sale or rent
    Rooms to let, fifty cents
    No phone, no pool, no pets
    I ain’t got no cigarettes
    Ah, but, two hours of pushin’ broom
    Buys an eight by twelve four-bit room
    I’m a man of means by no means
    King of the road.

  5. Tunnel of Love è il titolo di una canzone dei Dire Straits, composta e cantata dal musicista rock Mark Knopfler ed inserita negli album Making Movies del 1980 e Alchemy del 1984. Venne pubblicata come singolo nel settembre del 1981 solamente in alcuni paesi a causa della sua notevole durata (oltre otto minuti). È un brano caratterizzato da un testo molto poetico che tratta temi quali la solitudine, l’incomunicabilità, l’amore come mezzo di evasione dalla quotidianità e il timore di soffrire.

    I protagonisti della vicenda narrata nella canzone sono un giovane uomo ed una giovane donna, entrambi soli e tormentati nel loro intimo da pene d’amore. Una sera, i due si incontrano in un luna park e si innamorano profondamente e reciprocamente; tuttavia, alla fine della serata si separano e tra loro non nasce alcuna relazione amorosa, probabilmente perché entrambi, pur provando sentimenti sinceri, sono frenati dalla paura di soffrire ancora.

    Il brano si conclude con un lungo assolo di chitarra (oltre due minuti e mezzo) suonato dallo stesso Knopfler e caratterizzato da grande lirismo e abilità tecnica.

  6. Pingback: Miss Expatria’s Top 10 Songs About Places « Miss Expatria

  7. Verdi Cries reminds me of my first time in Italy. Milan and Lago di Como, 1997. Back when you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the lake for $35! All years ago….

Leave a Reply

