Tuesday News Dump

Over on my Tumblr blog, I often link to news stories that catch my eye – Tumblr has a neat feature that allows you to link instantly through my Firefox bookmark toolbar. (Mom – I’ll explain this to you later.) I’ve also allowed it to link to my WordPress posts automatically. I love it.

However, sometimes that means I have a surfeit of backlogged topics I’d like to write about. When it all becomes too overwhelming – or when I really need to get crackin’ on work and can’t be messing around on WordPress all day – we have a news dump.

So – without further ado, here are the things that your Miss Expatria has been interested in lately.

Preserving vacation memories – These are some ideas and links about having kids make their own scrapbooks for family vacations. I think this is a fun idea. I also think parents should give their kids disposable cameras and let them take their own pictures – you’ll be amazed to see your vacation from their point of view.

Gawker weighs in on drinking and dining al fresco – In New York, at least. Even after all the years I’ve lived over here, it still makes my heart skip a beat when I find the perfect outdoor table. It’s one of the things I really love about Mediterranean Europe – they actually WANT you to park it outside. There are always tables available, and you don’t get a crosstown bus idling next to your salad.

Google to photograph every door in Britain – Thanks to my pal Sushis for pointing this one out to me. The map fiend in me loves this idea; the human in me detests it. What are your thoughts?

The Happy Hotelier’s Pod Hotel Reviews – First of all, I loves me some Happy Hotelier. Secondly, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying his news about pod hotels, two in particular – the Everland in Paris, and the Citizen M Hotel at the Amsterdam Airport (as well as the general concept). If you click on nothing else in this post, check out these pod hotels.

The Department of Homeland Crazies and their new idea – ID bracelets instead of boarding passes. Clearly the Electronic ID Bracelet is a euphemism for the EMD Safety Bracelet, or at least it has a nefarious hidden ability (thus the term ID Bracelet is ambiguous at best). EMD stands for Electro-Musclar Disruption. Again, according to the promotional video, the bracelet can completely immobilize the wearer for several minutes. ‘Nuff said.

6 thoughts on “Tuesday News Dump

  1. Do the people at Google not have enough to do? Perhaps some of them need a hobby. I understand needlepoint is very relaxing.

  2. Pod hotels? AWESOME. The only issue I have is with the Amsterdam hotel. The toilet is >right-there< in the room with you. Toilet time is private time, you know?

    While I would totally love to see the Google streetview for any address, I can already see so many problems. It’s a cool concept, with a bad reality. Not every idea should be pursued simply because we CAN do it.

  3. re: the safety bracelet:

    Why don’t they make it a necklace? Specifically, a choker. I think chokers look sexy. Moreover, that way it will be more like the shock devices they put on dogs so they won’t leave the yard, which is kind of the idea, anyway.

Leave a Reply

