An Open Apology.

Yesterday, I opened my post about summertime in the South of France by giving a sweeping and greatly exaggerated statement about life here in Montpellier.

I am heartfully sorry about that, and I have since edited it out. I wrote it without thinking of the consequences, and I’ve hurt many people who are close to me.

The culture here is very different than what I am used to. After being away for so long, I have found myself not being able to readjust as quickly as usual.

On Wednesday night, I spent the evening with friends at a place directly across a narrow road from another group of friends. I made a snap decision to stay with the first group, and did not go across the road to see the latter group.

This action, combined with what I wrote yesterday, has left many of my friends here – friends I care deeply for – turning away from me, without speaking to me about it.

I don’t want to lose any of these friends, who mean more to me than I’ve been expressing, obviously. I intend to rectify this, one person at a time, until everything is put right.

Thank you for your time.

2 thoughts on “An Open Apology.

  1. After reading, and re-reading your post, I honestly can’t see anything wrong with it, or unusual, or particularly derogatory, but you know the people there better than I.

    I know you will do what is best.

  2. Hey,

    I thought there was nothing wrong with your post. The reason we have these blogs is so we can write about our feelings, right? I recognise that these are people you have to live with on a daily basis so you want to smooth things over. And I know you do like them all very much based on what you have written in the past. I just think that they are kinda being A-holes to you on this and it may be time for you to create a custom group that does not include these people and then you’ll be free to express whatever positive or negative feelings you are having and not have these kinds of repercussions.

    Montpelier people-COP ON!

Leave a Reply

