No Smoking, S’il Vous Plaît!

Gawker Media is an interesting company that hosts a collection of interesting themed blogs. In our household, many afternoons have been – well, not wasted, per se – whiled away on any number of these blogs: Gawker, a New York-based media blog for Cal, Wonkette for my political fix, and we both love Jezebel with a fierce loyalty that defies logic.

Their travel blog is Gridskipper, and I have to say, I don’t love it. The Gawker Media demographic (and I just realized that he’s up the street from my friend Rich!) shows that their readers are young, hip, and with disposable income – which to me means that there should be a lot more foreign travel posts on this site than there are currently. Instead, there seem to be a disproportional number of posts about New York (Williamsburg in particular), Los Angeles, London and Paris. Yawn.

I’m not saying I want it to be like the conversations I hate among too many travel-savvy New Yorkers – “Oh, Kabul? Yes, we just got back, there’s a lovely little sushi place just behind the ruins of the Ministry of the Interior, you must ask for Yoshi to be your waiter, he’ll give you extra wasabi!” But give me something that makes me want to book a ticket to somewhere.

OK, enough bitching. I’m just disappointed in Gridskipper, if only because Gawker media’s other blogs are like catnip for intelligent people. But that being said, I’d like to direct your attention to a wonderful piece about the French smoking ban that recently went into effect. It includes a concise history of smoking bans worldwide, which I found interesting. But – why did they pay Getty to run that picture, when they could have gone into Midtown and gotten it for free??

The ban isn’t that bad down here in the South; despite the chilling rain we’ve been having since the ban went into effect, just last night we were able to sit outside, sheltered from the rain and warmed by a heater, and smoke. We’ll only have about another month of crap weather, and then it’s outside living until next December. I’ll let you know how it’s going in Paris when I go in LESS THAN A MONTH!

Leave a Reply

