Weekend in Paris – What to Do, If You’re Me

I was musing further on the fact that I’m having a girls’ weekend in Paris next month, and it got me to thinking about my favorite haunts. I’d thought I’d share some with you – and I want to hear what you like, as well!

Berthillon is always on my agenda. Ice cream shops in the middle of a river should always be on everyone’s agenda. So creamy, so rich, and you can walk around the tiny Île Saint-Louis and feel like a wistful princess as you eat your heavenly treat.

Sushi in Paris is constantly a joy. I don’t know the name of the place I love to go to, but I can get there well enough. It’s on rue Berger, right behind Les Halles. Add sushi to your list of foods to eat in Paris.

Because I am a Eurotrash expat, I always must stop by Breakfast in America and load up on yummy diner goodness. I’m thinking of going here after MK flies out on Monday morning, and read the paper and have a good old American calorie bomb of a breakfast.

Last summer, I tagged along to Paris with my friend Vik, who had a much-envied ticket to see Madonna. We stayed at her friend’s house on rue Montorgueil and it was like the Paris that you always want to find but you always wind up not finding. It’s absolutely lovely – well, lovely enough for Monet to paint a picture of it. It’s a must on any walking agenda.

I also love walking from the back courtyards of the Louvre, through to the Pei pyramid, across the street and through the length of the Tuileries, up the Champs Elysees, and then make a left and GASP! – the Eiffel Tower steals my breath every time. I like to go up and touch it, but I don’t think you can do that anymore.

I still haven’t found the perfect thing to do/walk to/eat/drink after this walk, but I think with the girls at my side we’ll find something. Hee hee.

The view from Sacré-Cœur is one of my favorite of anywhere I’ve been. The first time I visited the church I took the funicular up, and when the doors opened an enormous brass band struck up the Marseillaise and a parade started. It was the day the French celebrate the grape harvest, but I chose to believe it was just for me, and Montmartre has been magical for me ever since.

And the church is pretty, too.

Leave a Reply

