Giving Thanks Where Thanks Is Due

Cal and I are lazy and the only two Americans we know here, so we’re going to go out for a swank dinner in a couple of hours and eat copious amounts of exquisitely prepared French food.

On this day, a day of giving thanks, I am going to give myself some time to really appreciate the amazing adventure that is my life.

I am thankful for amazing southern French blue skies, warm winds from Africa, city-sized pedestrian zones, crumbling old buildings, foie gras, Tempranillo wine, chocolate-flavored cigarettes, candles, and quiet, rainy afternoons.

I am thankful I have found a job that I love, and that liberates me, and makes me fiercely proud of what I produce.

I am thankful that Cal is a part of my life. His love for me is true and consistent and real and about as close to unconditional as anyone could hope for in this world.

I am thankful for Ladybird “Squirt” Johnson, who gives good snuggle and who is adorable and who can make me laugh and bring me out of A Mood with a simple, inquisitive, “Meow.”

I am thankful that my parents are healthy and happy, and for my enormous, supportive family.

I am thankful for my gay mafia. I love them with a fierceness that defines what love is. They are every good thing.

I am thankful for cacio e pepe, the best food on earth, and for Tempranillo wine, the elixir of the gods and my current favorite red wine.

I am thankful for my dreams at night, which are always interesting and give me much to think about.

I am thankful to be living in a really cool apartment. I love this apartment, I love that everything has its place in its own room, I love our balcony, I love our enormous French windows, I love its large rooms with high ceilings that roll from one to another in a big haphazard pile.

I am thankful for my girlfriends here in Montpel. They make my heart light and remind me how strong and cool and funny I am.

I am thankful for my unstructured daily schedule. It’s such a gift.

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

