Kauai, Hawaii: Honeymooners’ Paradise, Pregnant Woman’s Mecca

Rise and shine, gentle readers! Today is Monday, and we all know what that means – Monday Morning Coffee Stories.

Today’s entry is from my dear friend, the amazing Mary Kate. Now the proud mother of two of the cutest kids on the planet, she and her husband John had a most spectacular wedding in New York, followed by a most glamourous honeymoon in Kauai, Hawaii. I flew back from The Continent for the former; sadly, I was not invited to tag along for the latter.

Honeymoon stories are stories of once-in-a-lifetime experiences, and are a dime a dozen. So, I’ve asked Mary Kate to tell us the tale of a twice-in-a-lifetime trip – back to her honeymoon spot, for her birthday, and four months pregnant.

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

I would have never guessed that my 32nd birthday would be rated the best. The main reason this is such a surprise to me is that I was pregnant (and therefore, sober). I am not one of those, “Oh my God, I love being pregnant” type of women. I am more the, “Oh my God, how did I gain 10 lbs before the second line appeared on the pregnancy test” type of women.

We should have been spending my 32nd birthday in Vietnam, but when I found out I was pregnant and could not receive the necessary vaccinations my husband and I decided to return to our honeymoon spot – Kauai, Hawaii.

The circumstances of our second trip varied greatly from our first. Since this was not our honeymoon, we thought the $400-per-night Hyatt in Poipu was little out of our reach. The other difference was that I was four months pregnant and gaining weight fast. I felt that returning to the sight of our honeymoon under these conditions would be an interesting social experiment, and would put my true feelings for Kauai to the test.

I awoke on April 14, 2005 to the same weather we had had for the previous two weeks – clear blue sky, wispy high clouds, no humidity and trade winds keeping things at a precise 79-degree state of perfection. My husband drove to the Portuguese bakery in the shopping complex with Cold Stone Creamery (don’t ask) that has the weird wedding cakes in the window and bought me six apple turnovers, still warm. I ate them all. It took until lunch, but I did it. We sat on the beach at the Sheraton, where I fielded calls from all my loved ones.

Next stop, the Anara spa at the Hyatt. Bring on the 90-minute massage and the amazing Coco Mango moisturizer that I had been waiting a year and a half to repurchase.

I also had known what I was going to order for dinner for the entire year and a half since my honeymoon. I think part of the reason we returned to Kauai was to see if the lobster piccata with pistachio fettuccine was as good the second time. It was. I didn’t think it was possible that anything could live up to the mental hype I had created in my own mind around this meal, but it did.

I left out one key piece of information: I had not had a drink in 17 weeks, until this night. We ordered a bottle of my absolute favorite, Saintsbury Pinot Noir. I had one delicious glass, and it was the crowning moment of the best birthday ever…so far.

Makes you want to grab a bag and get to Hawaii, pregnant or not!  If you’re looking for decent airline tickets to Hawaii, make sure to include Aloha Airlines, American Airline and Go Airlines in your search.

7 thoughts on “Kauai, Hawaii: Honeymooners’ Paradise, Pregnant Woman’s Mecca

  1. Pingback: Iphone | Apple | Mac Blog » Kauai, Hawaii: Honeymooners’ Paradise, Pregnant Woman’s Mecca

  2. Pingback: Apple Blog » Kauai, Hawaii: Honeymooners’ Paradise, Pregnant Woman’s Mecca

  3. Pingback: Weather Details & Aloha Paragraphs — Tropical holiday Destinations

  4. Pingback: Girls’ Weekend in Paris « Miss Expatria

  5. Pingback: Bagel Shops » Kauai Hawaii: Honeymooners’ Paradise Pregnant Woman’s Mecca Miss …

  6. Hi,

    I’m 8 weeks pregnant and heading to Hawaii in 4 weeks. I just read your blog and it made me so excited to be going there. I’m the kind of traveler that loves to sit on the beach and sip on fruity cocktails- so this will be a slightly different experience for me! I wanted to know if you remember what restaurant you went to for the lobster piccata pistachio pasta? I’m a huge pasta fan and thought that sounded delicious.

    Thanks for the tip!

    -Meghan

    • MK says, “Dondero’s in the hyatt in poipu, the dish is lobster piccata, tell her to have some for me.”

Leave a Reply

